

## **Proceedings of the 2013 Annual General Meeting**

**Date**: Wednesday, 6<sup>th</sup> March 2013

**Time**: 6:50 pm - 7:50 pm

**Venue**: Victoria Room 1, 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor, Regal Hongkong Hotel, 88 Yee Wo

Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong

## **Attendance:**

Corporate Members (Voting Members): Kin CHENG, Thomas T.K. HO, Aaron S.W. LUI, C.L. WONG, Wilson W.L. HO, Grace M.H. KWOK, Chi Wing LAW, Ming Kai CHEUNG, C. K. CHAU, William P.Y. FUNG, Valerie KUNG, Alson PANG, Eric K.F. LIU, Steven KWOK, Laurent T.H. CHEUNG, Clief TANG, FAN CHONG, Alex CHAN, Schroeder TAM, Stephen LEUNG, Anthony C.H. WONG, Daniel P. C. CHAN, Jonathan KWAN, TANG Yu Tin, LAM Cheung Fai, Calvin CHIU, Steven TANG, CHENG Chi Ming, LEUNG Yuen Tat, Rodney IP, CHAN Chi Lung, MA Sau Ping, CHANG Wai Fat, HO Cheung Chow, David YEUNG, TANG Siu Hong, LI Cheung Shing, TSANG Fan Cheong, TAM Kwok Yui, LAU Hon Ping Andrew, YAN Wai Lok, WONG Kin Man Raymond, TSUI Siu Lung, SHEK Tat Ming

## Voting Members whose Proxies were received by the Honorary Secretary:

Glenn Frommer, Josh LAM, Freeman CHEUNG, Wing Kwok SZETO, Edwin CHUI, Yau Hang LEE, Kai Wa CHENG, Chor Kuen WONG, WAI Chok Pong, Ka Ho LAM, CHAN Chi Lung, TANG Siu Hong, LI Cheung Shing, YEUNG Nga Man, KWOK Kwan Hung, LAU Wai Tang Leslie, LEUNG Wing Sun, WONG Hon Yiu, Tsui Ying Kit

Non-corporate Members: So Shuk Yan, Eddy NG, Tai Man Ho, Jason CHAN, Charle Shen, , CHAN Kwok Hung Thomas, LAM Ching Mau, WONG Wai Lok, CHUNG Tak Leung Joshua, CHAN Hung Biu, Joey LAU, Andy LAI

Guests: Prof. W.T. HUNG, Prof. Matthew YUEN, Prof. Li CHENG, Prof K. C. LAM, Alan C. M. TSANG, Anthony LAU, Prof. C. M. MAK, K.K. IU, Dr. CHONG Fan, Prof. Dennis LEUNG, Dr. Lixi HUANG, Ir. Maurice K.L. YEUNG, Ms. Angela HUI, Ir N. C. CHEUNG, Mr. Paul KWONG, Mr. Andrew CHEUNG, Mr. James LO, Mr. Richard KWAN, Mr. Tommy WAN, Dr. YEUNG Yang, Mr. Henry LEUNG, Mr. Fred CHAN, Mr. Raymond WONG, Ms. Ada FUNG, Mr. Dennis WU, Ms Ceilia LAU



## **Proceedings**

- 1. At 6:50 pm, the Honorary Secretary, Dr. C.W. LAW, declared that the total number of attending voting members had satisfied the requirement for a quorum as stipulated in the Memorandum and Articles of Association of the HKIOA and confirmed that the AGM could therefore proceed.
- 2. The Chairman, Dr. Kin CHENG gave a quick overview of the AGM's agenda.
- 3. The Chairman invited the meeting to accept the proceedings of the 2012 AGM held on 13<sup>th</sup> June 2012. Mr. Maurice YEUNG proposed and Mr. Tom HO seconded the acceptance of the proceedings. The meeting unanimously agreed to accept the proceedings without any objection.
- 4. The Chairman delivered his 2012-13 Annual Report, of which a hard copy had been made available to each member present. He thanked the existing Committee Members, including Mr. Tom HO, Dr. CW LAW, Mr. William FUNG, Dr. C. K. CHAU, Ir Y. N. AU YEUNG, Mr. Aaron LUI, Ms. Grace KWOK, Mr. Wilson HO, Prof. S.K. TANG, Dr. Randolph LEUNG, Dr Raymond LEE, Dr. Clief TANG, Mr. M. K. CHEUNG, Mr Schroeder TAM, Ir K. K. IU, and Ir Maurice YEUNG plus many others for their excellent participations and contributions.
- 5. The Chairman introduced the structure of the Executive Committee as well as the roles and responsibilities of different Committee Members, and gave an overview of the activities and achievements of each Sub-Committee.
- 6. He also gave an update on the membership status and a brief account of the financial position of the Institute, while a separate report by the Hon. Treasurer would be made later.
- 7. The Chairman also reported on the activities and functions the Student Branch had organized.
- 8. He reported on the Institute's commitment to promoting education in acoustics, by offering/supporting various types of courses for the profession,

e.g. the 2012 Meyer Poon Memorial Award to outstanding submissions at both graduate and post-graduate levels, the Certificate Courses on Architectural Acoustics Design, Noise Control, Road Traffic Noise Assessment and Measurement jointly organised with HKIE-MMNC and ASME-HK Section from Jan. to Mar. 2013, etc.

- 9. For external liaison, the Chairman reported the active participation of HKIOA members in the Inter-Noise 2012 in New York City, USA and other international acoustics conferences, etc.
- 10. The Chairman's Report closed with a forward looking message assuring that the Institute would keep up with the momentum in furthering the benefits of members and exploring new developments.
- 11. The Chairman invited feedback on his Annual Report. There being no objection or comment from the floor, the Chairman's Report was accepted.
- 12. The Chairman moved on to report that the following two Committee Members were due for retirement from the Committee:- Prof S. K. TANG and Ir Y. N. AU YEUNG. The Chairman indicated that the Committee had received nominations for re-election of Ir Y. N. AU YEUNG as well as new election of Dr. C. K. CHAU as Committee Members. There being no additional nomination from the members present.
- 13. The nominee, Dr. C. K. CHAU, was then requested by the Chairman to introduce himself (Ir Y. N. AU YEUNG was absent due to other commitment). Without any objection or comment from the floor, the 2 candidates were therefore elected as Committee Members to serve the Institute.
- 14. The Chairman thanked again all the Committee Members for their support. The meeting echoed with applause.
- 15. The Chairman invited the Hon. Treasurer, Mr. William FUNG to report on the Institute's financial status. He briefed the meeting about the overall financial situation of the Institute as well as the expenditures made, such as organizing various seminars, etc. The Hon. Treasurer also welcomed members to inspect the full audit report.



- 16. The Chairman then called for the meeting's acceptance of the Hon. Treasurer's financial report. Mr. Tom HO proposed and Mr. Aaron LUI seconded the acceptance of the report. There being no objection, the report was accepted.
- 17. According to the Articles of Association of the Institute, each AGM should appoint an auditor to hold office until the next AGM. Upon the Hon. Treasurer's recommendation on the current auditor, Mr. Richard KWAN proposed and Mr. Wilson HO seconded the re-appointment of Alan Chan & Company as the auditor of the Institute. There being no objection, the re-appointment was passed.
- 18. The Chairman then invited the office bearers of the Student Branch to the stage. Mr. Kam Leung HON represented the 2012 executive committee in formally handing over the Branch management to the Chair of 2013 executive committee, Mr. Ka Chun KAN.
- 19. The Chairman then asked the floor if there was any AOB item to be raised.
- 20. There being no further AOB item, the Chairman declared the AGM closed at 7:50 pm.

Chairman Honorary Secretary K.W. CHENG C. W. LAW

12 March 2014

\* \* \* \* \*

12 March 2014